Athens/Clarke Schools

Public schools

Public schools are run by the Clarke County School District.

Alps Road Elementary School

  • Barnett Shoals Elementary School
  • David C. Barrow Elementary School
  • Chase Street Elementary School
  • Cleveland Road Elementary School
  • Fowler Drive Elementary School
  • Gaines Elementary School
  • Oglethorpe Avenue Elementary School
  • Howard B. Stroud Elementary School
  • Judia J. Harris Elementary School
  • Timothy Road Elementary School
  • Whit Davis Elementary School
  • Whitehead Road Elementary School
  • Winterville Elementary School
  • Middle schools
    • Burney-Harris-Lyons Middle School
    • Clarke Middle School
    • W.R. Coile Middle School
    • Hilsman Middle School
    • SOAR Academy (Alternative Education Program)

Private schools

  • Athens Christian School (grades K-12)

  • Athens Montessori School (grades K-8)

  • Saint Joseph Catholic School (grades K-8)

  • Monsignor Donovan Catholic High School (grades 9-12)

  • Westminster Christian Academy (grades K-12)

Colleges and universities

The Arch in Downtown Athens
  • The University of Georgia (UGA) is a public research university located in Athens, Georgia, the oldest and largest of the state's institutions of higher learning. Founded in 1785, it was the first state-chartered university in the United States.

  • Athens Technical College is a TCSG public college in Athens, Georgia. It offers certificates, diplomas, and associate degrees in business, health, technical, and manufacturing-related fields.

  • Piedmont College is a private liberal arts institution founded in 1897 to serve residents of the Appalachian area of northeast Georgia, USA.

Oconee County Schools

Public schools in Oconee County are run by the Oconee County School District:

The Private schools in Oconee County are: